stupid broken scale.

I step off the scale, and then back on. Depressingly, the numbers don’t change. How can I gain two pounds from one day to the other? Especially when I’m walking up that flaming great hill every morning? Dejected, I gather up my things and continue to my office.

I know better than to expect immediate results, but part of me had hoped that I would start shedding weight, at least a pound or two, relatively quickly. Walking up the hill every morning from the train station is not exactly grueling, but it does give my breathing an extra puffiness, it makes my muscles from ankle to thigh burn, it turns my legs into lead weights from the shins down, it makes me want to sit down, to lay in the cool wet grass of that field just to my left and just…rest. It makes my leg come perilously close to locking up, dropping me to the ground where I will writhe and cry and eventually phone my husband to come and get me please, my leg has stopped working. Surely I don’t deserve to actually gain weight.

People- do not have children. They only make you fat.

In other news- the BNP have failed to win any seats in yesterdays elections! That is GREAT news. What’s not great is that they have gotten enough votes to keep on trying. This party is bad for Britain. It’s so plainly obvious. Hopefully the voters will continue to keep them out of Parliament.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I am fairly certain garden gnomes are responsible

    Reply

  2. Posted by ering1 on May 2, 2008 at 7:38 am

    Quite possibly. It’s definetly not the bag of cheese balls I stuffed yesterday.

    Reply

  3. Muscle weighs more than fat 😉 You may see a gain at first as you gain muscle but then you will start to loose the fat more quickly since muscle burns more calories than fat. Also be sure to drink lots of water to flush out the bad stuff, and you’re better off only weighing yourself once a week 😉

    Reply

  4. Posted by ering1 on May 9, 2008 at 8:35 am

    I hope you’re right! After a small drop the other day, it’s gone up 4 pounds, again! I don’t get it. I think maybe the scale is buggered…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

