crumbling…

For about three days I could breathe, I could smile. I househunted with the view of actually choosing a house. We had been worried about affording the move in costs (up to £2500 with one estate agent) associated with another rental. But we have to move, there is no choice so I had to suck up my pride and approach my company for a loan. They said fine, they said no problem!!! I felt so much better. So we stopped trying to work out how we’d afford storage for all of our stuff and where we could park the cars to sleep in at night.

It turns out the company can’t afford to loan me the money, whatever they loan me will be out of the pockets of the company accountant and/or company director.  I can’t accept that. How can I? It is generous and good and pleasantly surprising but I can’t do that. I can accept money from family, or banks- but my boss? The company accountant?

*sigh*

I don’t know. I’m scared. How can we be homeless? We work Full Time, we have three kids, we have an English Heritage membership, we read The Independant and The Guardian. We visit national monuments and we have family dinners around the table and don’t let the kids watch to much TV, we don’t drink, or smoke, or do drugs. We buy the cheapest groceries.  What have we done wrong? How can we possibly be facing homelessness?

 

 

*Well, yes I have been known to buy The Daily Mail, but only, ironically, for the property section- with its multi-million dollar houses and celebrity owners. C’mon- it’s eye candy for the renter! Surely that’s not so bad though, right? Am I being punished for coveting expensive houses?

5 responses to this post.

  1. Oh, I’m really sorry to hear that, E. There’s got to be a way around it. Something has to give. You just can’t become homeless, you can’t.

    Have you tried contacting Shelter, a big UK housing advisory service and homelessness charity? They were great when I was going through a dispute with my landlady and I’m sure they can help you sort out an emergency loan for your moving costs. Please look them up and phone them, they are there to help in situations exactly like these. No one will allow a family of five to not have a place to live merely because they don’t have the deposit.

    Reply

  2. Posted by ering1 on July 10, 2008 at 10:26 am

    Thanks, A- I’ve had a look at their website and I suppose I’ll have DH apply for a crisis loan… But I’ll have to talk to the CCCS first as part of the terms of our DMP is that we not apply for any loans or credit.

    This has been such a difficult time. I feel like we keep getting up and then getting kicked in the face. Over and over again. I can’t even think positive anymore, or hope for anything better.

    Anyway- thanks for pointing me in their direction.

    Reply

  3. I’m in the US, not the UK, but perhaps there are some similarities, so I’ll offer this suggestion: contact shelters, utility companies, your landlord, whoever you can think of to explain your situation. Ask them, “Who can help me?” There may be a social service agency in your area that could help with utility bills or perhaps emergency rent. I’m sorry to hear you are facing potential homelessness and wish you the best of luck.

    Reply

  4. Posted by livingoncouches on July 11, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    As someone who is going through a similar situation right now – I’m sending the most positive energy and thoughts your way.

    You will find a way, I’m sure of it. You’ll surprise yourself with your resourcefulness.

    Best wishes,

    Sable (“Living on Couches”)

    Reply

  5. Posted by ering1 on July 11, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    Thanks very much for your well wishes and positive vibes. They mean a lot to me, and help me think positively.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

