unprofessional

I’m starting to feel like I’m uptight. But, I know I’m not. I’ve got a good sense of humor, I don’t normally get needlessly offended. (I can even banter about my nationality with a (more or less) real grin on my face!)

But lately, I feel like I’ve got a big ole stick stuck where the sun doesnt shine. I work in an office. In Britain. Where people are known for being reserved. hah. What a joke.  When the only guy in the office isn’t telling us what a “Cunning Linguist” he is, the only person on my team is gabbing about shoes and fashion, or assuring the ditzy receptionist that her “sugar-free” diet coke really does not have any sugar in it(ooh watch out for the sweetener though- it’s addictive!), or someone answers their extension “Kebab shop!”, or someone else comes into the office singing at the top of their lungs, taking no notice if any of us are on the phone, or even flashing the “cunning linguist” her assets.  Not to mention the piss taking, the name calling, the outburts, etc.

I’m big on professionalism, but I know there is a time and place for mucking about and I’m all for the occasional laughfest. But it just seems to last all day. And I don’t care what the rest of them do, but I do care when my person is constantly being dragged in or mucking about, and I do care when they’re sharing loud/inappropriate jokes/conversation when others are on the phone to clients.  Which is why I hate feeling like I’m just being a downer. I’m in the right- there is work to be done. Even if it’s only the minority in the office who have work to do.

It just pisses me off. It’s like none of them know the meaning of the word “professional”. And I feel like a bitch for interrupting their muck about time to ask about work!

I miss having jobs where I had no responsibilities. Where it didn’t matter at all what others did. Where I didn’t have to rely on others doing their jobs to ensure I could do mine. Where I didn’t have to manage.

I manage, but I don’t have a proper manager title, which means I just have to put up or shut up. And I’m fed up. Get to work, slackers!!!!!

One response to this post.

  1. I know what you mean. I’ve grown tired of coworkers who take advantage…those who always arrive late, leave early and spend the few hours in between visiting and chatting with others. It’s all so tiresome. I wish people would just grow up and get to work already.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

