trepan-nation

A fascinating interview with a woman who voluntarily had a trepanation done can be found here.

Reading about this procedure in the past has always filled me with a sense of horror. What a sickening thing to do to people. It never occured to me that people might actually do it voluntarily. Reading about her experience is very interesting, and the ideas for trepanning in modern times are… intriguing. But her experience following the actual procedure seems more likely related to endorphins then having a hole drilled in her skull.

I think I can still safely say this is not something I’ll be trying in the future. I imagine that far from curing my depression or making me more energetic, it would probably just land me in the ER and on the front page of the local newspaper. “young mother sectioned after drilling hole in head- teens warned of  dangers of latest cheap thrill”

Leave a Reply

