Day 13

Getting into the groove now. It’s not quite so intense, almost like it’s a way of life now.  I’m used to the hunger, it bothers me, but it’s not so all encompassing.

I’m exercising quite a bit, doing the arms on the walk to and from work. I do 1 or 2 sets of 60 of each exercise, there are three. At night I do 30 sit ups, and 1 30 set of 3 leg exercises each.  I’ve lost about 10 pounds since starting.

Yesterday I had three mini-chocolates. And then I made chicken cacciatori for dinner and had two helpings. I fear my calorie intake was probably a bit over 500! But, that’s ok. I couldn’t do this, I couldn’t stick to it if I let it completley overtake my life. The problem was that second helping. But it was really very good. Delicious. Seriously, I think I just need to start feeding them bread and water- that will make my diet easier!!  Most days, I stick to 500 and that’s it.

I did have a chat to my doctor about my diet the other day. She congratulated me on it and was very positive. She laughed when I expressed the concern I had seen so often on the internet of having a heart attack, etc. This, she said, is not likely as I am young and very healthy. She recommended I increase my calorie intake to 800 given my lifestyle (kids, FT job, active, etc) but said I could maintain my current level for quite a while. This made me feel better. I was also reading some research that showed that people on a low calorie diet (about 1200 per day) had “younger” hearts and lived longer.

As I have not expereinced any real weakness or feeling faint or shaky, etc. I plan to stay at 500 calories for the time being. I’ll listen to my body though- it will let me know when it needs more.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I’m glad it’s going so well for you. Congrats on the 10lb weight loss!

    Reply

  2. Posted by ering1 on September 14, 2008 at 10:57 am

    Thanks, A!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

