Relief

At 4:00 am I dragged my oldest kids and my husband out of bed and forced them to sit in front of the television and watch first, the concession speech of a good man, but not the man we need in the white house right now,  my home state senator, John McCain and then the speech of the new President of the United States, Barack Obama.  I laughed, I cried, I clapped. My husband videoed. My kids were just happy to have hot chocolate and be out of bed in the middle of the night. My mother was annoyed because I phoned her and woke her up to tell her the news, she is in Arizona.

I was so happy I was almost speechless. This is a good day for America, and for the world. I only wish we could have been there in person.

Congratulations, America- you did good.  I have so much confidence and faith in Barack Obama to make things right. It made me so sad and annoyed to hear the pundits immediately become cynical I had to turn the tv off- there will be plenty of time for cynicism. Lets just spend today being happy that finally the right choice has been made.

Leave a Reply

