About a boy, and a box.

So, my youngest children O, 9 and R, 4 have a thing for boxes. They call them boxees and when a new one comes into the house the excitement is almost unbearable.

The screaming and laughing and pure joy is enough to..you know, throw the damn thing away as soon as possible. Is it recycling day yet? Now? Now? PLEASE can I get rid of the damn box, yet???

Last week I bought a new printer AND a new vacuum. Boxes perfect for a newly turned 4 year old and a small for her age almost ten year old to climb in, push around, build houses and yes, sled down the stairs on. (that last one is discouraged.) Handy for storage of various random items that definitely will not be missed, such as small furry animals, remotes, I-Phones, keys, you know, the usual.

Also good for putting a stool in, topping with three pillows and sitting on top to watch Dora. (Or, you know, Diego. Whatever’s on- my baby aint bothered.)

This could only have improved in pure 4 year old awesomeness had I installed a flat screen tv on the box flap and handed him a bucket of popcorn.

Boxees are also handy for playing video games.

My child is the same size as a compact Epson printer.

That game was fairly relaxed. However, THIS one required kneeling upright and actually waving the remote around. My 4 year old is an expert on the Wii. I don’t have a clue half the time, I only use it to workout and even then I have to wave the magic wand around like a maniac to get it to recognize I have done the freaking final squat and please can I stand upright now? But R is good. He rides elephants and para-glides down canyons and plays frisbee and football and all from inside a freaking box.

Seriously, I hadn’t even mastered Frogger on the Atari at that age.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Very, very cute.

    Your children might be cats. And I mean that as the highest of compliments.

    Reply

    • Posted by E on April 13, 2010 at 2:27 am

      Oh, they would LOVE to be cats. All that random racing around and climbing things? Not to mention sleeping wherever it’s warm and/or cuddly plus food and water catered for at all hours of the day. They are obviously cats reincarnated! Thank you for that stunning yet apt revelation.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

