A disclaimer

I’d like to write a bit about some of my experiences when I was younger. I’m afraid I will forget them, or the specifics, if I don’t, and also,I want to share them. I see it as a test of my writing skills, and I hope I will do the stories, and their characters justice.

Most of the events of my youth that I want to write about have difficult themes that may include drugs, sex, violence (not so much of that), homelessness, jail and things of that nature centered around teenage kids. If you think you are likely to be offended, or emotionally affected by these kind of stories, please feel free to avoid them. The posts themselves will hopefully be written in a humorous way where possible and reflect the good and bad of the events. (i.e. be worth reading)

Please keep in mind while reading that most of the events depicted happen between the ages of 12-15. Please also remember that while I am writing for the internet, I am still a person with feelings and I have a family who were very much present for the duration, if not for the specific events. They will no doubt have a different version of events from mine. While constructive criticism, questions and comments are welcome and appreciated- comments that are hurtful toward my family or just plain nasty will be deleted.

This disclaimer may seem unnecessary and maybe even silly. Experience however cautions me against writing about difficult topics without warning, and I feel it is important to give people a chance to go find something more up their alley before reading here. If you read my blog already and have no desire to read about these experiences, please don’t feel you have to leave completely, I will link to this disclaimer with each post within the series so, you will know before reading if you want to continue.

The first post of my “Juvenile Delinquent” series should appear shortly and will talk about my family and school life and what drove me to run away for the first time, when I was 12. Or it might be about something else entirely. As shocking as it is to me, this all happened about 15 years ago and I’ve been busy since then. I used to keep journals. My mom found them and she wasnt exactly thrilled. So, I threw the journals away in a neighbors trash can. The neighbor found them and expressed very strong opinions about their contents and GAVE them back to me. Sometime later, my conservative Christian Aunt found them, and blacked out everything she found objectionable… including whole pages.

I stopped keeping them after all that, and I struggle now to remember specifics, and when things happened so I don’t intend to follow any sort of set timeline. I might talk about the time I spent Thanksgiving with Sean and Anavrin looking for a Rainbow Fest in Big Sur, California and how I ended up halfway up a mountain. And the next week I might talk about being locked up in juvenile detention for the crime of “running away” something like a dozen times.

Stay tuned.

E (The General)

Forgot to say: Let me know what you think? Are you interested in hearing the crazy stories of my unusual youth? My memoir, if you will? Let me know in the comments! Or if you have crazy stories of your own youth to share, I’d love to hear them!

2 responses to this post.

  1. I’ve never kept a journal. I regret it now, because my childhood was certainly something from which I could have profited immensely if only adolescent me would have had the foresight to write it all down. Thanks for nothing, me.

    But I do love reading others’ crazy stories. And I know my opinion matters most of all, so there you go.

    Reply

    • Posted by The General (aka: Mommy) on April 18, 2010 at 2:27 am

      I wish I hadn’t stopped. Who could’ve guessed that it would all be practically as faint as a dream by the time I reached the decrepit old age of 28? Even these days I struggle to keep a journal and so encourage my daughter to keep one. Her tell-all book will keep me entertained when I’m old and grey.

      I look forward to hearing any of your stories! Either here or via your own blog.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

