Liv

Olivia

I first profiled my daughter in this way back in 2008. I offer the 2nd in the series here. She is 10 1/2 now, and I was pleasantly surprised at how similar some of her answers were to the ones she gave three years ago. She had no prompting for the new version, I called her upstairs, asked her the questions and then sent her away.

She is 1/3 of the amazing bright star that is the sun in my life.

Favorite:

Color> ” Red “

Food> “Pancakes”

Person>”myself

Place> “Home”

Book> “Born to Run” Michael Morpurgo

Movie> “Twilight

Joke> Knock Knock Jokes

Word> “Fragilistic” and “Olivia”

Activity> “running”

Smell> “perfume”

Game> “monopoly”

Thing to wear> “lovely dresses with bows on them

Place to go> “Cornwall”

Loves> “my family and myself

Would like to be a: doctor

She found out today that despite doing well on her entrance exam, she would not be offered a bursary to help toward the cost of sending her to private school. The senior/high schools in our area are not great, and she fell in love with the private school. I knew a full bursary would be a long shot, but for her to be offered a place at the school, and then offered nothing to help pay for it, despite the schools ethos of ensuring all capable girls had access, was a very bitter pill to swallow, for both of us.

I won’t give up just yet, but it looks like only a miracle will keep the dream alive at this point. The thought of sending her to one of the local schools makes me cringe, I’ve already had to stomach sending my oldest to one for the last 3 years. I really wanted more for her, she is capable and deserving of so much more.

Cross Country- Her school is 2nd in the league, she is best in the school.

2 responses to this post.

  1. My two favorite answers? Favorite Person: myself. Favorite place: home. It says a lot about who she is, and how she’s being raised. Kudos to you. 🙂

    That’s an awfully brutal blow in regards to the private/public school dilemma, though. I hope something is able to be worked out. If not, though, she certainly seems to have the character to thrive, regardless. Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by The General (aka: Mommy) on February 28, 2011 at 5:31 pm

      She’s lovely, adolescence is proving to be a little rocky but I’m excited to see what kind of young woman she becomes!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

