The wordsmith

My oldest son has always had a way with words. He caused me no end of trouble as a toddler, and quickly gained a reputation when he started school as somewhat of an..lets say…embellisher of reality. For example, there is the time he told a teacher at school he had a secret room in our house which was full of 64 Xboxes and many TV’s.  Or the time I received a worried phone call from my confused brother, after my son had told him his father had picked him up in the middle of the night and taken him to California and they had gone to disneyland, and other wild things I don’t remember. Colour me shocked, as my son has never met his birth father and has only been to California once, safely ensconced in my uterus.

Then there is the time he, at three years old, announced to a room full of my sisters friends attending her baby shower, that “MOMMY HIT ME!”. Of course I had not hit him, this was his way of recounting how when I had buckled him into the carseat for our drive over, the belt had stuck and the buckle snapped back, hitting him in the face, though not hard. Everyone at the party, most of whom I had never met, swung their heads around in unison to glare at me in silence. Awkward, much?

Devon, March 2010, 12

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As Devon grew older he used his power usually to get others into trouble or to get attention, more than once I have marched into a school office with my mama bear face on and demand to know how on earth he could be beaten up by children on the playground and no one do anything about it?! The office staff would look shocked, the head teacher would consult the playgrounds security cameras for the day and time, and find…nothing. Ah, kid. Those security cameras will get you every time. This of course presented a problem. My son was dealing with terrible bullying, and I did feel that not enough was being done about it. But, he had revealed himself to be an… embellisher. His credibility had taken a nose dive. Getting anyone to take the bullying seriously after that was very difficult. I’m momma though. Momma never tells her child “You’re making it up.”, when it’s something as serious as bullying. I continued to take everything he said seriously and try to get the bullying taken seriously and dealt with. While also trying to get him to realize he couldn’t just make things up to get the bully’s into trouble, or to get himself sympathy. Those were some difficult years.

Devon, March 2011,13

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now days, Devon has matured and he uses his power with words to make us laugh. He tells the best and the worst jokes I have ever heard. I encourage him to write his jokes down and tweak them and to take it further and write stories. But, he doesn’t have the patience or the drive for that. I hope that he will someday. He is wonderfully witty and smart, has a great vocabulary and a superb sense of humour. For the moment his interests lay in cooking and sports leadership. He is a wonderful cook and brings home wonderful marks as well as wonderful dishes for us. He is a sports leader and enjoys getting involved and running sport activities, like a cross country day at a local junior school in the next few weeks. He was chosen for that and I am so proud of him.

Watch out world, here he comes.

One response to this post.

  1. I’m glad that he now uses his power to make you laugh. My 17 year-old still uses hers to make me scream!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

