Year 4

Devon’s 4th birthday party was held at a bowling alley, and I guess that’s why I don’t have any pictures? a small family party and I don’t have any pictures because Devon has them all in his photo album. His 5th birthday was at the bowling alley, and I’m fairly sure I don’t have any pictures of that.

Anyway, the last few birthday pictures I’ve posted he hasnt been smiling and I don’t want anyone to think he was some miserable little sod of a kid, so I thought I’d use some pictures with smiles to celebrate year 4.

Graduate!

Devon graduated from preschool when he was 4. They had a proper ceremony and everything, he even got a diploma. He was so happy and had so much fun at the party. He started kindergarten that fall, and I’m sure I cried. My baby was growing up. God, I had no idea. He’ll be 14 in 11 days. Last night when talking about what he was going to do when he finished school, we were talking about the possibility of him going into the armed forces. Devon said to a friend of the family, “I’m not sure I should really leave mom with Olivia and Rafe though, they might put her in a care home, you know.” Apparently he thinks that once he leaves home I will age 50 years and no longer be able to take care of myself?

Devon, clown, some other child

We also attended my company picnic that year, which featured a clown, a bouncy castle, a barbecue and even an inflatable jousting tournament for the kids. This was my favorite year with Devon as a little one, he mellowed considerably from the terrible twos and three’s and real school (and all the associated trouble) was still a while off. He told me lovely jokes, and we were always out and about. His favorite thing to do that year was go to the park and feed the ducks. This is the year I’d have over again for the sheer joy of it.

Leave a Reply

