Week 2 £30 a week challenge

So, this week is going to be a bit tougher, as I’ve run out of quite a few things, but I’m sure I can do it. Thankfully I’ll be making use of a pork joint I’ve had in the freezer for a few weeks, it’s big enough to make two meals, and since I bought it last month, it won’t cut into this weeks grocery budget!

Last week I spent £30 on groceries. Though a few pounds of that was on toiletries and cat stuff as well as potatoes for this week- so on actual food for week 1, I came in under budget, by a couple of pounds at least. I had to make a last minute change to my menu, having included roast as a week 1 dinner, even though it is actually meant for Sunday. I found some fresh meatballs and a pan of tear and share garlic bread in the reduced section  last week so picked them up, making a savings of £2.16 from the normal price of those two items. I was pleased about that, and it solved my menu problem, spaghetti and meatballs for dinner!

Only spending £30 on groceries last week freed up a lot of money and enabled me to pay some bills that were making me quite anxious.

My menu this week looks like

Roast pork w/ roasted potatoes and yorkshire puddings.

Minestrone Soup

Macaroni and Cheese  w/ salad (again, yes, but everyone loves it and it is so nice in this cold cold weather we’re having)

Pork curry, using the leftover pork from Sunday dinner.

Tuna noodle casserole

Grilled cheese sandwiches with beans

Quiche w/pasta

Obviously to cut down my spending so drastically, I can’t buy a lot of meat. It is a bit of a challenge thinking up new meals that don’t use meat every week, so for the first month or so I imagine there will some repeating. Also, while frozen pies and such are cheap, they have a ton of calories and salt in them so I’d rather avoid them. The store bought quiche isn’t as bad though, and I can usually get a good deal on them as well as find different flavors to try.

Leave a comment